about egs

The European Graduate School is a non-profit, accredited, degree-granting university with campuses in Valletta and Ft. St. Elmo, Malta and in Valais, Switzerland.

It meets the same rigorous standards as other European universities, and is accredited under the European Qualifications Framework through the National Commission for Further and Higher Education (NCFHE), Malta. The Council of Higher Education Accreditation formally recognizes the National Commission for Further and Higher Education (NCFHE) of Malta as their Quality Assurance Body international partner agency.

See, e.g., the EHEA/Bologna Process page on Malta; a government publication from NFCHE on the MQF; and recent coverage of EGS licensing by press in Malta.  

NCFHE (Malta) and the EU

EGS is accredited by the Malta National Commission for Further and Higher Education (NCFHE) as an MA and doctoral-degree granting university (“level 8”) under the Malta Qualifications Framework (MQF).  The MQF is recognized by the European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA) and the European Higher Education Area (EHEA); the MQF level 8 is equivalent to “Third Cycle Bologna Process.”


The EGS was established as a Graduate School in 1994, and chartered as graduate and post-graduate degree-granting University, with a campus in Saas Fee, Wallis (Valais). The EGS is accredited by permission of the Council (Staatsrat) of the State and Canton Wallis, Switzerland, to award recognized Master (M.A.) and Ph.D. (dr.phil.) degrees and is formally recognized as a university in Wallis by Staatsratsbeschluss (State Council decision, from June 20, 2002).  EGS is funded by the not-for-profit EGS Foundation. Co-founders of the school are the State and Canton of Wallis, the town of Saas Fee and The European Foundation of Interdisciplinary Studies (EGIS).

Both nations are members of the European Union, subscribers to the Bologna Process, and members of the European Higher Education Area.


Further:  The European Graduate School MA and PhD degrees meet all accreditation and quality assurance standards for institutions of higher education within the United States, as standardized by the Council of Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). The US Department of Education (while not an accrediting body) recognizes EGS as a degree-granting institution of higher education, under the Higher Education Act of 1965/1998.


EGS was founded in 1994 in Canton Valais, Switzerland. Jacques Derrida, Friedrich Kittler, J-F Lyotard, and Jean Baudrillard were among the earliest faculty members. Current faculty includes philosophers like Giorgio Agamben, Alain Badiou, Simon Critchley, Boris Groys, Jean-Luc Nancy, Avital Ronell, Paul Virilio, Victor Vitanza, and Slavoj Zizek. Other faculty members include notable filmmakers and artists like Atom Egoyan, Casey Reas, Peter Greenaway, and Wim Wenders.

My Time at EGS

Between 2007 and 2010, I took seminars in Switzerland with Badiou, Agamben, Avital Ronell, Greg Ulmer, Zizek, and Wolfgang Schirmacher, among others.  Prof. Schirmacher was faculty with  the Media Studies Graduate Program at the New School, in addition to being the founding Dean of the Media and Communications Division of EGS; he also directed my dissertation, which was defended and accepted in December, 2010.

Recently, the Norwegian peer-reviewed journal of contemporary philosophy and thought, Inscriptions, dedicated an issue to Prof. Schirmacher.

Prof. Badiou is introduced by Prof. Schirmacher, with levity. Photo G. LeMasters, 2008.